Garten der Harten

Garden of the tough

Als ich heute auf SZ online diese Überschrift las, hatte ich augenblicklich die Assoziation zu der Redewendung: „Die Harten komm’n in Garten.“ Jedenfalls fing ich an zu lesen – und war sehr überrascht und erfreut, welche mutmachende Geschichte ich da lesen konnte. Wenn ihr ein wenig Zeit habt, möchte ich sie euch ans Herz legen, vielleicht berührt sie euch ja: Garten der Harten.

Parallel zum Lesen hörte ich gerade diese Klänge… Sie passen ganz gut 😉

 

When I read this title at SZ online today, I immediately had the association to the idiom: „The hard ones will get into the garden.“ Anyway, I began to read the article – and was very surprised and delighted because of the encoureged story I’ve found. If you have a little space of time, I want to lay the story into your heart. Perhaps it touches you: Garten der Harten.

Because it is in German language, I want to tell you in a nutshell:

A man in Neukölln had an idea, about 20 years ago… Neukölln is an urban district of Berlin. It is known for its high proportion of foreigners and its high rate of criminality, gangs of youths fighting against each other and so on.
He tries to create a wonder: He wants his garden to be a rescue center for all difficult youths of the quarter.

First there was an area of 7000 square meters. It was a damp, used as a parking place from residents. He bought 4000 violets to begin with his project.
The morning after the evening, the violets were delivered, he found a devastation. Kids had thrown the violets all over the square. He thought: I can pack in. This idea will never materialize. To built a garden out of a 350 years old metaphor, in the middle of Neukölln, with uprooted from every strife of the world, with Kurds, Turks, Lebanese, Libyans, Romany, Serbians, Kosovars, Ukrainians and Syrians – what a dead duck.

He felt destroyed and likes to go back to his books and his job at the university.
Than he collected in the violets with his hands. The kids observed him. He said: „It surely is fun to displant and to throw around it. But it is fun too, to garner it.“ After a while they helped him. It were the same kids who caused devastation.

His project were become a touching story. Some lost people just had this garden as safehold. He has strong rules (no alcohol, no drugs, no loud music, to collect fruits is just allowed for eating it immediately, destroying plants isn’t allowed), sometimes he shouts at youngsters, but there is always a place to be for those, who are in need of it. The man called his garden „the paradise“ 🙂

9 Gedanken zu „Garten der Harten

    • Lieber Pit,
      freut mich, dass dir die Story gefällt. Manchmal braucht es jemanden mit Mut, Kraft und einer Vision, um das Richtige und Notwendige zu beginnen.
      Hab auch du ein schönes Wochenende!
      Marion

      Gefällt 1 Person

    • Liebe Jeannette,
      es fängt immer im Kleinen an, was zukunftsweisend ist. Es kann etwas bewegt werden, wenn einer mit der richtigen Vision und dem passenden Bewusstsein beginnt, etwas Neues zu tun, um an alte Probleme ran zu gehen.
      Dieser Mann rührt mich wirklich an, mit seinen festen Prinzipien, seinem unermüdlichen Wirken in seinem Garten, seiner nicht nachlassenden Aufmerksamkeit für das Notwendige, damit die Dinge nicht aus dem Ruder laufen, sondern der Garten bleibt was er ist. Und ich finde es wunderbar, dass er trotz aller festen Regeln weiß, wann sie gebrochen werden können und müssen, um Gutes zu bewirken.
      Herzliche Grüße auf Kreta 🙂

      Gefällt 2 Personen

    • Danke Uta, freut mich, dass du beides gerne mit der Seele aufgenommen hast.
      Mein Wochenende war gut, so wie mir freie Tage seit Mittwoch gut getan haben.
      Liebe Grüße
      Marion

      Gefällt mir

    • Hallo Annette, Klasse, gell?! Erst die Idee, dann die konsequente Umsetzung und zum Schluss noch der Spruch, das Projekt habe ihn selbst gerettet. Vom Alter her nehme ich an, er fing das an, als er an der Uni in Rente ging. Was für ein sinnerfüllender Lebensabend!
      LG
      Marion

      Gefällt 1 Person

Dein Kommentar...

